The University of Utah Press is pleased to announce the creation of two funds to help support publication of the next generation of Press authors. We welcome contributions of any amount. Current University of Utah Press authors are welcome to donate some or all of their earned royalties to either or both of the funds. If you are an author interested in contributing your royalties, please fill out the form here . For more information, please contact


The John R. Alley Fund for Publications in the American West was created upon John Alley’s retirement from the Press in June 2018. This fund in his name was conceived as a way to honor his contributions to the scholarship of the American West over his thirty-five year career. It will be used to underwrite part of the production cost of worthy projects, often those created by younger scholars, in disciplines related to studies in the American West. All titles benefitting from this fund will include an acknowledgment on the copyright page of the book.


The University of Utah Press Seventy-Fifth Anniversary Authors Fund will fund young scholars and their books across all subject areas published by the Press, which will celebrate its 75th anniversary in 2024. All titles benefitting from this fund will include an acknowledgment on the copyright page of the book.

Support your university press!

By mail: Make checks payable to University of Utah Press and mail to:

The University of Utah Press
J. Willard Marriott Library
295 S 1500 East, Suite 5400
Salt Lake City UT 84112

Donate online at:

*Be sure to mention the gift is for the University of Utah Press

Email  or call 801-587-9339 with any questions.


The following authors and supporters have generously contributed to the above funds. We are very grateful for their support.

John Alley and Kathleen Kingsbury

Jeanne Arnold

Bruce D. Blumell

Bill Broyles

Laurie J. Bryant

David L. Clark

Frank L. DeCourten

John Dotson

Louise Excell

John W. Fisher, Jr.

Michael S. Foster

Edward A. Geary

Luisa Del Giudice

Jane Leonard

Carolyn J. Mackay

Armaund L. Mauss

Ozay Mehmet

Paul Ortiz de Montellano

Vera B. Moreen

Reid Neilson

Pendragon Ink

David A. Phillips, Jr.

Heidi Roberts

Jedediah Rogers

Heather J. Sharkey

R. G. Shepherd

Jennifer Sinor

Katherine Spielmann

James M. Taggart

James David Taylor

Ronald H. Towner

Terence S. Turner

Laurie Webster 

Barbara J. Williams

Aaron Wright